AnneElicious


Famous Five to return in cartoon form
March 20, 2008, 4:12 pm
Filed under: tellyvision | Tags:

Famous Five cartoon

I’m honestly not sure how I feel about this.

According to the Beeb website – ”Enid Blyton’s Famous Five are returning to TV screens in a new animated series – with an updated 21st Century look.

This Famous Five are the kids of the original gang – well bar Timmy the dog presumably – and have all the modrin gadgets such as iPods, mobile phones, macbook pros, lazer guns etc. Anne’s daughter is a blonde Californian ‘shopaholic’ called Allie (most likely a Paris Hilton wannabe) whilst George’s daughter, Jo is Anglo-Indian and kick-ass like her ma.

I don’t think I like it though. When I was a young ‘un (anyone smell a cliche coming on) I used to love reading the Famous Five with a torch under my big snuggly duvet, and imagining all the secret meetings in caves along the rainy coasts of Engerlund drinking ginger beer with posh English accents. This modern day cartoon just isn’t the same.

Maybe I’m just bitter. And/or need to grow up. Most likely both.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t say that I’m surprised. I’m expecting a new version of Scooby Doo any day. Instead of hunting down ghost and drinking malts, they’ll virtually chase cyber criminals and knock back a few Red Bulls. 🙂

Comment by Jefferson Davis

This is THE wrong.

“..their enemies include a DVD bootlegger”

And that my friends, is where Enid turned in her grave.

If they touch the Secret Seven there’ll be trouble.

Comment by becs




Leave a Reply

