AnneElicious


Random acts of kindness
September 30, 2008, 2:27 pm
Filed under: random | Tags: ,

I decided to tidy my room the other day (it doesn’t happen often).  Then whilst tidying it, I decided to go all out and completely rearrange the furniture. My bed now rests against the window so that when I look up I can gaze out at the night sky which is so very rosemantic.

Whilst I was moving the furniture, I came across an old bus ticket which I immediately proceeded to throw into the bin. Fortunately, I was struck by the memory of something I meant to post about a long time ago….

A few months back, myself and the boyfriend (let’s call him J for the purposes of this post) were out in town having dinner followed by a few drinks in the Porterhouse. I was a bit tired and cranky and not giving him the easiest time of it. We waited at the bus stop in the rain and chit-chatted to an elderly man about the miserable weather and lack of summer and all the usual things you chat to strangers about. J had moved aside to let him sit down out of said rain, only a minor gesture, but he seemed to really appreciate it.  A bus pulled up and it turned out he was getting on it too. We went the the front of the bus upstairs and the man sat a few seats behind.

Me and J started chatting about our day and, fueled by a few drinks, got into a minor debate about some trivial matter that is long gone from my memory. Me, being me, got into a huff and moved to the seat beside us so I could sulk properly.  I got a great sulk going for a good two minutes before looking back at my other half and feeling like an evil cow. I had just moved back in beside him when the elderly man from earlier came up to me and said ‘you dropped this’. I thanked him before I even looked at what it was – a bus ticket. Feeling puzzled, as I used a bus pass to get on, I was about to throw the ticket in my bag and forget about it when something stopped me. I turned the ticket over and on the back was written – ‘Don’t be mad at him, he’s a good man and loves you’.

We were stunned into silence and genuinely touched by this man’s intervention. It’s not something I would normally recommend as many people would probably be annoyed by strangers or even friends commenting on their relationships. But I think in this case, it was the surprise that someone who had only seen us together for 20 minutes could make such a nice judgement of us.

But maybe I’m just a sentimental old fool :)




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.